Rovingpatrol's Blog

My Experience In The Bermuda Triangle

Posted in Uncategorized by roving on March 5, 2010

I served our country aboard a Destroyer. I been almost completely  around this planet and seen all kinds of things while out to sea.

Depending who was on duty on the bridge at the time, an announcement would come over the loud speaker giving us tidbits about where we were and what we were seeing off in the distance.

I have been through the Bermuda Triangle four times.  The first time going through, I was in my compartment when the announcement informed us we were entering the Triangle.  I was a little nervous. After all, who hasn’t heard all the stories about planes and ships disappearing? Wikipedia seems to have all the answers by saying important parts of the stories were left out and explains/assumes what really happen.  I can only tell you about my personal experience in the Bermuda Triangle.

The sea was calm but it was as if we crossed a line and the seas became choppy. This happen about every time we crossed into the Triangle.  It had gotten so I knew when we were in the Triangle.

The first three times, nothing unusual happen. The fourth and last time, I was pulling duty on the bridge at the helm. It was around 2am when my compass stopped working. I alerted the officer of the deck (OOD)who then told me to steer using true north.

About 10 minutes later the port lookout reported a light off in the distance. The OOD, looked at the radar screen but nothing showed.  The light didn’t seem to be moving.  We were nowhere near land so that was ruled out. The light was bright white.  The light being from another ship was ruled out.  For one, there was no blip on the radar screen, if it were a merchant ship, it would have more then one light, there were no other American warships in the area, and our guts told us that wasn’t a ship. The OOD sent the messenger to  wake the captain and requested he come to the bridge.

When the captain came to the bridge he was informed of the light, the non working compass and the blank radar screen. The captain looked at the light through the binoculars for a bit then put them down. The OOD asked if we should turn towards the light and investigate. I’m thinking to myself, lets not. The captain after reading my mind concurred. Stay on course but keep an eye on the light. If anything changes, let him know.

About an hour later the compass begin to work again. When we left the Bermuda Triangle, the sea became calm.

Okay, okay. You had to be there.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. andrea said, on March 7, 2010 at 12:52 am

    awesome…:)

  2. P.R.GOWRI SANKAR said, on September 30, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    MY REASEARCH ABOUT BERMUDA TRIANGLE IS “A ULTRA POWERFUL RAYS” OCCURED IT ! THE PROPERTIES OF THAT RAYS ARE IF ANY OBJECT CAN CUT THE RAYS, FRACTION OF SECOND WHICH THE OBJECT CUTS BECOMES INVISIBLE OR BURNS COMPLETELY UNTIL ASH WITHIN THAT FRACTION OF SECOND & DISSOLVES IN AIR OR WATER.. MAYBE IT IS OCCURED EARTH AS COMES DIRECTLY FROM SUN.. BUT I DON’T HAVE ANY PROOF TO EXPLAIN IT !

  3. Pat said, on November 20, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    I experienced the spinning compass and failing engines on a return trip

    from Cay Sal Island to Marathon in 1970 or 71. Besides myself there was my

    husband, another couple and our African Gray parrot.

    Weather was mild but showers developed on the way home and as we

    looked for sight of land water spouts formed all around us, the sky turned

    grey, the twin engines shut off and the waves became violent. We were

    in a 45 foot Pacemaker fisherman and the water was pouring over our

    heads. The boat seemed to be ready to break apart at any moment.

    There was too much for me to comprehend — the helplessness and the

    fear. I wedged the bird’s cage safely in the galley and followed some of

    my husband’s yelled commands.

    And then it just stopped. I would guess the duration to be half an hour.

    The sky cleared, the engines roared awake and the boat lurched forward.

    No lingering damage to the boat or the four passengers. Also, we never

    mentioned it again. It is now November 19th, 2010, and I am finally

    realizing I may have witnessed a Bermuda Triangle phenomen.

    Pat LeCates

  4. Person said, on January 2, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    I think it is electromagnetic fields deep in side the earth.

  5. Anonymous said, on August 2, 2011 at 1:40 am

    it might be some magnetic depression in the water.

  6. trinity said, on June 3, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    I just came back from a tour in bermuda and was at the tip..they claim it is the coral reef that wrecks ships and yes the ocean floor keeps changing..from being right on land like a sandbar to 50ft drops..while we were in this certain area the ship became very unstable..it was like the sea went wild rocking our boat terribly


Leave a Reply

