Rovingpatrol's Blog

Salvation Army Playing Games

Posted in Uncategorized by roving on January 15, 2010
The Salvation Army - To Give or Not to Give. . .
Image by ckaiserca via Flickr

Charities have been a let down for me. It used to be we would be given a list of charities at work and we could pick and choose which one we wanted to donate with using automatic deduction from our paychecks or one time payment. I always picked the suicide help line.  The suicide help line not only talked to people thinking about taking their lives but would talk to thoses who were just feeling lonely.

After a few years my workplace dropped them all and only gave us one choice. The United Way. I gave to them a few years until a few months after 9/11. I was disgusted where the money was going. The huge salaries were out of line and I wondered if my money was going to help or towards a paycheck so I stopped the donations.

After Obama stole the election, my thought when I saw the bell ringers out in force was I would never give to any charity except for military veteran charities  because I didn’t want my money going to Obama voters. I figured you voted for Obama, let Obama help you with his hope and change.  I did put a few dollars in the kettle anyway this past holiday.  I’m having 2nd thoughts again but this has nothing to do with Obama.

Now I’m wondering about the Salvation Army. Yes the Salvation Army helps families. There is no doubt about that. However what I learned about the gifts people donate I must wonder how much of the money donated actually makes it to families in need.

First, I have no idea if this happens all over the country. I’m just picking one Salvation Army center. Some may not  think its a big deal. To me, its just another let down.

This particular Salvation Army has names of families people on a Christmas tree and people can pick a family they would like to donate presents to.   The presents come flowing in all gift wrapped. What some may not know is, the family names are made up.

After the family leaves the presents, they are put in a room and opened. I can understand opening them up because some people can be mean or think they are funny by gift wrapping a lump of coal or something.  The gifts are then gone through and some are kept by the volunteers for their own family.

One particular gift almost got the Salvation Army busted. This person had picked a fake family name from the tree and sees the same gift at a Christmas party the Salvation Army was throwing. When confronted, The Army seemed shocked and promised to “investigate.” I wonder how that investigation is going…

On Christmas day the Salvation Army serves food to people in need. This past Christmas they served 80 families yet when reporting the number to the newspaper, they inflated the number to 180 families.  Why did they do that? I’m thinking if they can show the readers just how bad it is, people would pour more money into the Salvation Army.

Personally I have never donated a present to the Salvation Army. I have however donated to the Marines Toys for Tots program.  Formally being in the military, I KNOW the toys go to children in need.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wonder said, on January 26, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    The Salvation Army is corrupt! The more people that know…the better!

    http://www.walletpop.com/blog/2010/01/05/free-housing-deals-for-salvation-army-officers-create-image-prob/65#comments

    Some of the comments echo yours.

  2. Jake said, on January 17, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    If you have ever been helped by The Salvation Army or have ever worked for The Salvation Army then you would know that this report is NOT true and is written by some bitter and twisted reporter who has nothing better to do with their time!!!

    I have worked for The Salvation Army during their Christmas programs and you don’t realize how much time and resources The Salvation Army put in to to make this happen for families who can’t afford anything for their Children at Christmas!!

    Every parent that comes to register their Child/Children are entered into a massive database. The Children’s names are not fake!!! Their information goes onto a Christmas tree and the public/community go out and buy a Christmas gift for the Child.

    There are clear instructions to not wrap the present or gift (if the person who wrote this report had ever been generous enough to take part in this fantastic program they would know not to wrap the gift!!) as staff and volunteers have to check that the gift is appropriate for the Child etc!! Understandable!!!

    If the donor didn’t label their gift with the Child’s info then its hard for staff to process and make sure it gets to the right Child!! I think you have done your report very one sided and I would urge you to maybe stop being so selfish and maybe try volunteering at The Salvation Army for the Angel Tree program!! Maybe your report will be written slightly different after!!!


Leave a Reply

