Rovingpatrol's Blog

The Closing Of Dealerships Should Tell You Something

Posted in politics by roving on June 4, 2009

With GM and Chrysler closing down a good chunk of dealerships tells me they know their future isn’t bright and could be doomed.

How can a car company on one hand say they will come out of bankruptcy a stronger car company yet barely have any dealerships left to sell these cars? Who will want to buy a car they may have to drive miles to have warranty work done on it? Who is going to want to depend on the Government for warranty work? Everything they touch turns to dust.

GM and Chrysler must know they will lose a fair amount of customers because they took our money and gave it to the unions. A fair amount of customers will refuse to buy a car from them because now the government owns the biggest share and will be running it no matter what they claim. They will refuse to buy just for the principle of the whole thing. GM and Chrysler know this.

I for one am the proud owner of a brand new Ford. I will never buy Chrysler or GM and I’m not the only one. Looking around my town, I see people driving new Fords more then any other car. The Focuses and Fusions seem to be really popular. Its rare I don’t go more then a few blocks without seeing one or the other.

My job depends on the health of the car makers. I see 90% of work needing to be done for Ford, some for Toyota, and a few small orders for GM and no orders for Chrysler.

GM and Chrysler are finished I hope and even though my job depends on them, I don’t care. Its the principle of the thing that matters more.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gayle said, on June 4, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Have to admire you for standing by your principles You are in the minority

  2. magna carta said, on June 4, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I will buy the car that holds up the most anti-Obama stickers the Passat wagon with the rear-window being elongated + large glass rear window is a good pick.


Leave a Reply

