Rovingpatrol's Blog

Chantix: Day 3

Posted in Uncategorized by roving on April 2, 2009

Three pack a day smoker and I quit smoking for one year once  using the patch and gum. I used both for a month then dropped the patch and stayed with the gum. I cut the gum in half so the package would last longer. I chewed the gum for maybe 4 months. By the time I decided to get off the gum I was only chewing two pieces a day.

I CRAVED EVERY DAY. I felt cheated. I quit damn it! This didn’t feel fair. Granted the first three days in the quit was really bad. A non stop craving.  Total hell.  I had no idea caving and just having one ciggie would ruin all I did. Looking back I should have bought some more of the nicotine gum.

I have quit again. A week here, month there. I keep trying but I know what hell it takes to go through and always have the feeling of dread.

Now that the Kenyan has broken his promise of no new taxes and stabbed his sheeple in the back not to mention my state of IL wants to add another dollar to the cost of a pack, I decided enough is enough. I want to force the Kenyan and my state to go after other peoples vices for a change and went to see my doctor to get some Chantix.

Day one it wasn’t more then 20 minutes and I got a queasy stomach. My mouth tasted like a tin can. Same for day two. Day three my stomach wasn’t as queasy and it didn’t last. The tin taste is gone. Tomorrow I start taking two pills a day.

So far I feel nothing. I’m dreaming but nothing like the dreams I had while wearing the patch. I hope they get more vivid. Its like being on an adventure when going to sleep. Except when its a nightmare. Wearing the patch I had a nightmare. It was so real I was afraid to go back to sleep. When I did fall back to sleep I’ll be damn if the dream didn’t start where it left off.

I’m still smoking like I normally do. I keep waiting to notice something but so far nothing. I’m still smoking as much as I always have.

I’ll let you all know if Chantix works for me. Maybe it will because now I have the Kenyan for motivation.

Tagged with: ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve said, on April 2, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Chantix works. Watch for the side effects.
    They warn about suicide tendencies. They are right, I wanted to cream an idiot at work, when I was on it. But it’s been almost a year and not one (1) urge to smoke. Even hang around with the smokers. Nothing.
    Keep up the good work! USN!

  2. gayle said, on April 2, 2009 at 7:27 am

    i haven’t bought a pack in four weeks. When mine went to $4.25 before tax
    I started rolling my own. Now that the price has tripled on the supplies I am cutting way back It was a pack and a half a day. Its now 6 or 7 cigs a day. I haven’t bough the higer priced tobacco and hopfully I won’t have to
    Best of luck. I have heard good stuff about those pills

  3. Susan said, on November 10, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I was given a prescription for Chantix by my physician this month and had saved enough money to pay for it because my insurance would not pay for it. I went to the pharmacy to get it, I was really happy that I was finallly oging to quit and neading to because being on dyalisis and to get my kidney transplant they don’t allow smoking payients. Once there, I was sadly informed that the cost of it had doubled and that I know that I did not have enough in my purse to pay for the drug. It is a wonder to a person that the companies can make a drug to help but then makes the price of it so much that a person that really wants it can’t afford it. What is a one to do.

    Susan

  4. Susan said, on November 10, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    I was given a prescription for Chantix by my physician this month and had saved enough money to pay for it because my insurance would not cover it. I went to the pharmacy to get it, I was really happy that I was finallly ready because being on dyalisis and to get my kidney transplant they don’t allow smoking patients. Once there, I was sadly informed that the cost of it had doubled and that I know that I did not have enough in my purse to pay for the drug. It is a wonder to a person that the companies can make a drug to help but then makes the price of it so much that a person that really wants it can’t afford it. What is a one to do.

    Susan

  5. Susan said, on November 10, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    I am sorry for the first time my letter went through. Please accept this second one as what I was really trying to say. Any comments would be helpful.

  6. amy said, on January 11, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    ok im really bad….. I am 2 1/2 weeks on Chantix and have not smoked for 4 days, but I still am chewing the nic gum. There is NO INFO about NRT and CHANTIX together…. WHAT NOW.. choose one method over the other? I choose the gum. it TRULY works… Chantix. I have an awful tinny taste in my mouth??? Will it eventually win over and I wont get a kick from the gum? I mean i am definitly getting a fix on the gum…. where as smoking I only needed a couple of drags on chantix….. I cant believe there isnt anyone else out there who is on NRT gum and Chantix? Am I the only person?


Leave a Reply

