Rovingpatrol's Blog

Get Even Over Cigarette Tax

Posted in politics by roving on March 13, 2009

Once again big brother goes after smokers by raising the tax on tobacco. Allegedly the extra tax money will go to children health care. The problem is, there isn’t enough smokers to pay for it. They would need 2 million new smokers to cover the cost.

Yes, I smoke. I quit for a year but craved every single day of that year. I have quit many times. A week here, a month there, yet always fall back to smoking.

Well, now that the cost of cigarettes are really beginning to take a chunk out of my paycheck on top of big brother trying to dictate mine and everyones life by claiming second hand smoke kills which is a lie, which I always knew was a lie because I grew up around smokers and there is nothing wrong with me. Now they are claiming third hand smoke kills. Just having the odor on a person will put others in a early grave! Give me a break.

When I had quite, I went to a doctor due to a pain I was having. The first thing out of his mouth was, “Do you smoke?” I said no. Well I just made his job a little more difficult because now he has to come up with a real reason for the pain. Doctors are lazy and just want to blame cigarettes on every little health problem that comes along.

To all you smokers, tired of being hassled? Tired of paying for everyone else’s health problem? Want the Government to go after what a non smoker loves to do since they seem find with the Government going after smokers?

I haven’t tried this yet but will most likely do this for a few reasons. One because its way cheaper then buying cigarettes and doesn’t have the poisons in them. Only nicotine and a vapor that looks like smoke. Second, would it be cool to walk into a restaurant and “light up” and watch the reaction? You can smoke anywhere you want because its harmless.

Check it out.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sandy said, on March 14, 2009 at 11:16 am

    My friend got one and hated it. She said she felt like inhaling water vapors caused her pneumonia.

    She went back to being a closet smoker! LOL

    I’m sick of government punishing us like we are children!

  2. gayle said, on March 14, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    well i would like to try it to kick the habit
    Theres not enough smokers now to cover his health care for illegals i enough smokers quit then he is going down the tubes

  3. […] A smart blogger added an interesting post today on Get Even Over Cigarette Tax Rovingpatrols BlogHere’s a small readingA week here, a month there, yet always fall back to smoking. Well, now that the cost of cigarettes are really beginning to take a chunk out of my paycheck on top of big brother trying to dictate mine and everyones life by claiming … […]

  4. CalifGirlInMaine said, on March 15, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I have to question the statement that secondhand smoke doesn’t kill. Whether it kills or not, I don’t know, but it definitely has an effect. Recently my father-in-law was hospitalized, and because of the condition of his lungs the doctors could not believe he didn’t smoke. He didn’t, but he lived with a smoker for 60 years. Secondhand smoke can also trigger bad reactions in asthmatics and people allergic to cigarette smoke, for ex.

    I won’t deny people their right to smoke (my dad smoked, and it contributed to his death, and my husband smoked but quit a few years ago when it started to affect his health), and I don’t agree with so much government regulation on where one can smoke and with the excessive taxation. But as a non-smoker, it is nice to be able to eat in a restaurant without a side dish of cigarette smoke.


Leave a Reply

