Rovingpatrol's Blog

I Got A Note From My Mailman

Posted in Uncategorized by roving on January 12, 2009

I live in NW IL and we have had a couple of really snowy cold winters.  This is the kind of winters we used to have. I didn’t like it then and I don’t like it now.

What I detest more then driving in this crap, the high heat bills, being so cold a person can feel every nose hair, your coat making crinkling noises, or your car seat feels like your sitting on a cement block,  is shoveling the crap.

The city widen the street so now my sidewalk is closer to the street now. The snowplows are pretty good at clearing the streets. The problem I have though is the plows drive by so fast they throw all the sand, salt slush and snow on top of my walk forcing me to work twice as hard. If I wait to long after they throw snow on my walk it will ice up and nothing will get it off my walk until it melts.

The city has a ordinance saying our walks have to be cleared completely of snow and ice. If not, we look at fines. A few blocks down  lives a old woman on a corner lot. The plows picked that corner to turn around throwing snow on her walk. I once saw snow piled up taller then me on her corner.

Apparently last winter  I didn’t get my snow cleared fast enough for my mailman. He left a note in my box that read if  my sidewalk isn’t cleared he won’t deliver my mail and I would have to go to the post office to pick it up.

I’m home when my mailman delivers my mail. I have NEVER seen him use my walk. He walks across my lawn. I see him deliver the mail across the street and never seen him use the walk there either.

My mailman is the “Worst Person In The World”

Tagged with: , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Neida Purge said, on January 13, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    A real wake up call to southerners.We wear shorts in December and January.Today it is sunny,no clouds at all about 62F.
    On the other hand,we don’t shovel snow but we wonder when the narco-terrorists will govern the SW and if our children will be kidnapped for cash.
    Right now this crime occurs within the Hispanic community but remember the Florida boy who used a safety pin to wear down the rope that had him tied to a tree?He was as white as the snow that swamps your sidewalk.

    Best Regards

  2. roving said, on January 13, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    isn’t that the boy who died?

    We are going to be at -17 Friday. I really hate winter.


Leave a Reply

