Rovingpatrol's Blog

Subtle Changes

Posted in politics by roving on January 8, 2009

For the first time in my life I found myself being careful who I talk to. Its not that there is a law agaisnt not talking about what I want or to who,(not yet anyway) its the ‘feeling’ that comes over me when I do.

At my job I can count on one hand how many people didn’t vote for Obama. As far as I know anyway because the ones who didnt are keeping it a secret.

I made the mistake of listening to a couple guys make fun of another who voted McCain. The one guy seemed to be sticking up for the McCain supporter. I kept my ears open for a week or so and sure enough anytime the talk turned to the McCain supporter it seemed as though this guy was sticking up for him. So one night I was put with him and I started some small talk and asked him what he thought about Obama and all the lies he has told. This guy tells me he voted for Obama. Just great. Here I thought he was sticking up for the McCain supporter when all along he was being sarcastic.

Now there is this feeling I get when I walk into a room. Being as how this guy has a pretty big mouth, they all now know how I feel about Obama. They wont say anything while I’m in the room. That isn’t the way they work. They wait for the person to leave before talking about them.

What is unbelievable is how much they don’t know about Obama. They all think the same way. He is good for change. We need a change. He had no clue about the birth certificate flap, his voting present 130 times, his crooked wife, the land deals, the born alive abortion, etc. Nothing. All they talk about is the change Obama will bring. Whats missing is I don’t hear them say what kind of change. Their main talking point is Obama isnt Bush.

Talking to a fellow Conservative last night, he started getting loud. He is very passionate. Off to the side a woman come walking up then backed off just listening. She is also a Obama supporter. I’m thinking, just great. More talk for the Obama crazies to laugh about.

The night of the election I was at work but getting updates through texts. After it was obvious Obama was going to win, I began feeling physically ill. I wasn’t sure I was going to make it through the night.

A change came over the work place that night. Its something I cant describe. People can take this as being racist or not. Makes no difference to me. I’m just saying what I saw and felt.I don’t believe in political correctness. I don’t believe we should hide in closets and whisper what we feel.

Looking down the isle I saw all the blacks in the place all gathered together. Not working. Just talking. After about 20 minutes they broke up and went about their business. But when they came by me or when they were in the lunch room I could feel something was different. The impression I was getting was we won and now you cant tell us what to do any longer. Thats the best way I can come to the describing what I felt.  It only lasted for about a week or two before everything felt like it was back to normal.

I’m not the only one who has to now keep things hidden. I know of others at other work places are doing the same thing.

Uninformed voters are the scariest kind of people.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gayle said, on January 9, 2009 at 7:46 am

    For the first time in my life, I am afraid to be an American


Leave a Reply

